What is an Australian ETA?

An Australian ETA (Electronic Travel Authority) is an electronic visa that is a travel document linked to your passport number.  It is required to gain entrance into Australia and can be used by 20+ nationalities.

Upon applying for an Australian ETA, usually within a day the visa will be issued.  You'll receive an email confirmation and need to print it for safe keeping.  There is no stamp or label placed in your passport, all is electronic.

The ETA allows the passport holder to travel to Australia as many times as needed within the 12 months since the date of issue.  The maximum visit is set at 3 months.

Which countries are eligible to apply for the ETA?

The following passport holders are able to access Australia's Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) issuing system online.

ETA Eligible Countries include Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Sout Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States, and Vatican City.


What you can do on an ETA?

Tourist Visitor

You can travel to Australia:

  • to cruise or have a holiday
  • to visit family or friends
  • as a business visitor
  • You can study or train for up to 3 months in total on an ETA.

Business visitor

As a business visitor, you can:

  • make general business or employment enquiries
  • investigate, negotiate, enter into or review a business contract
  • conduct activities as part of an official government visit
  • take part in a conference, trade fair or seminar. The organisers can't pay you to take part

You can't:

  • work for or provide services to a business or organisation based in Australia
  • sell goods or services directly to the public
Do you need a Visa for your upcoming trip?

Answer two questions and we'll show you if you need a travel visa or passport for your upcoming trip